Rainbows Taste Yummy Book Two and Box Set

It seems like ages since I last wrote a blog, but there was a reason for the time lag. My Excel worksheet stopped calculating for me, so I downloaded Open Office. But in my haste and inexperience, I was not on the correct website, picked up a really nasty virus, and $140 later and much frustration on the part of our techies, the virus was still there. WordPress wasn’t protected at the time, so I wasn’t able to access it safely. I deleted the Open Office File and paid money for a new version of Microsoft Office, which I now really like, and I began writing again. The virus finally disappeared when we ran an updated version of Spybot.
Now back to writing matters – my grand-nephew Myles, aged six or seven at the time, found a copy of Rainbows Tasty Yummy! Book One in our dentist’s office and decided he would like to co-author a book with me. This took place back in 2013. I prepared a file with the photos for Book Two and the four limericks I had written and gave it to him. In the summer of 2014 I asked him how he was doing and he said he thought there were just two more limericks to write. In the fall of 2015 I emailed his mom to see if he was still interested. Her reply was that he had dug it out and decided his writing skills had improved, so wanted to re-write some limericks. He had them completed after Christmas and I quickly put the book together, printed out two copies and gave them to him – one to keep and one to give to the dentist’s office. I also had him sign his photo on seven pages for the books I was creating for our library, medical center and great-grandkids.
As I was printing out the copies on my very excellent, but over twenty-year-old HP printer, the red ink cartridge went dry and is no longer available. So I now have a new Canon printer/scanner/copier on the desk beside me. A week later my monitor began displaying little red and green dots all over the screen, so it was back to Staples for a new one. On the bright side – both of these items were purchased on sale!
My final publishing project was to compile three of the children’s books in a box set, which I finally published as a pre-order this week. With that completed, I began sorting out photos from the kid’s books and cleaning up the excess. Then I tackled the many different spread sheets and updated them all. Finally, I backed up everything, listed the missing books on iAuthor (also couldn’t do this because of the virus) and finally I can go back to writing. I had completed two short stories in the fall and I think some or all of my sisters will add to this volume as well.
Enough said! I am loving our almost non-existent weather – today is going to be 9C and rainy!!!
Until next time,
Jean. https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/ShastaDaisy
Rainbows Taste Yummy! Book Two https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/610022

Rainbows Taste Yummy Book Two

About Jean MacIntyre

I live in Eastern Ontario, Canada with my husband Don and our very spoiled (but very cute cat) Little Bud. In the past, i have had three main careers - firstly as a registered nurse, secondly as a farm insurance underwriter, and now (the most fun one) as an author. To date, i have published eleven books - two children's, three non-fiction, and six 'sweet' romances - the fun stuff!
This entry was posted in Children. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

