Read An E-Book Week

I have another funny thing to report – but not so amusing. It was a mistake to publish on Amazon over the holiday season. I encountered technical difficulties and finally unpublished my books, however I may try again some day. Work on the current book is progressing very slowly. I am at the halfway mark, I know what happens next, but am having difficulty getting to it. There are many excuses, but fewer reasons. We live on homemade bread, homemade soup, and homemade salads based on the lettuce we grow in an aquaponics system – fish below and plants above. The lettuce is organic and tasty, but requires time to harvest, wash and dry the leaves. This is a relatively new project and hopefully we can add spinach, Swiss chard, and herbs.That’s excuse #1 – but I love creating new soups, salads and breads.

Excuse #2 – My husband had cataract surgery in November and February, each time requiring four trips to Ottawa, with a travel time of three hours round trip. It’s a miracle – he can now see to drive without seeing double. (There are now about a dozen pairs of reading glasses, scattered in every room of the house, used by both of us.)

Excuse #3 – Little Bud (cat) rules our household. He used to have a girlfriend who lived somewhere in the neighborhood and visited him quite often, but we haven’t seen her in over a year. During the winter he sleeps all night (thank you, Little Bud!), but he then wants to play for half the day, and we’re it. If he could talk, he would be saying – ‘get me a treat, put some water in the bathtub so I can lap it up, let me out to the garage for mouse patrol, let me outside unless you want me to use the litter box’, etc., etc., etc.

Working on the computer is not allowed when he wants something. He just walks back and forth on the keyboard until we give in. 

Excuse #4 – Attending funerals, birthday lunches, visiting the kids to see the new-to-them house they are moving into this weekend (nice digs!), lunches with my nursing school buddies, dental appointments, and so on.

Reason #1 – I’m hooked on Sudoku, crosswords and solitaire games, but I finally deleted Mahjong from my computer. My bad!

Having said all that, I’m going to do my best to have this one completed by the end of the month. There’s a murder mystery (a genre I haven’t attempted before) trying to write itself in my head. I have to keep shutting it down, but the plot is there – just no people yet. On that note, the soup pot needs stirring, this needs to be typed and proofed, then published. And I almost forgot to mention – this is Read An E-Book Week on Smashwords, so fire up your e-readers and load them. There are many books free and many more discounted – and all are formatted for most e-readers.  I have three free and eight at fifty-percent off.

Here’s the link to mine: https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/ShastaDaisy

And the link to Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/category/1/newest/1

Image

Happy reading, everyone!

Jean.      

About Jean MacIntyre

I live in Eastern Ontario, Canada with my husband Don and our very spoiled (but very cute cat) Little Bud. In the past, i have had three main careers - firstly as a registered nurse, secondly as a farm insurance underwriter, and now (the most fun one) as an author. To date, i have published eleven books - two children's, three non-fiction, and six 'sweet' romances - the fun stuff!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

