Rainbows Taste Yummy! Book One

At last, this one is completed and published! Making these children’s books is a great deal more time-consuming than writing a twenty-five-thousand-word romance. First step is the idea that pops into my head from somewhere. In this case, the image of the rainbow with the little old couple sitting beneath it, and then the first lines of the first limerick. From there, the process of taking the photos began. Each time I went shopping for groceries, I selected a couple of items I wanted to include, took the photos of them, and stored in them in the computer. My original intention was to combine the fruit and vegetables in one book, so I had a great many photos taken when I came up against a major roadblock – no blue vegetables to be found anywhere. So the project was put on hold for several months. Then one day I noticed an ad for blue potatoes on the flyer from our local grocery store, but alas, when I got there, they had been discarded due to a recall. Again, I set everything aside, this time for over a year. But miracles due happen!

 

One day my husband was shopping with me, picked up a bag of tiny potatoes, and when it was opened – there they were – several tiny blue potatoes. Back to the drawing board – in this case – the computer.

 

I had started cutting open some of the fruit, like the pomegranates, because their insides are quite interesting and colorful, but the whole project just felt really intimidating. Then my friend Allison suggested splitting the book into two (many thanks!), one with fruit and one with veggies. It only took me a few days to write up the limericks, polish the photos, print out a few copies and assemble them into books. These copies were then delivered to the children’s corner at our dentist office, medical center and other local places where kids could enjoy them.

 

Thanks to my sisters for their valuable input – Fran for correcting my spelling on cantaloupe, Marilyn for telling me to change the font to something more easily read by kids, and Mary for suggesting I add the progressive rainbow over each photo. Now it’s back to the veggie photos for book two. I have no idea when it will be completed, because I just decided I want to cut open some of the veggies to show the insides, so that means taking, and editing, more photos. This will be my last blog until book two is finished, so have a great summer, everyone, and I will talk to you later.
Here’s the link: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/322894

 

Jean.

Image

About Jean MacIntyre

I live in Eastern Ontario, Canada with my husband Don and our very spoiled (but very cute cat) Little Bud. In the past, i have had three main careers - firstly as a registered nurse, secondly as a farm insurance underwriter, and now (the most fun one) as an author. To date, i have published eleven books - two children's, three non-fiction, and six 'sweet' romances - the fun stuff!
This entry was posted in Children and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

