Talking With Nature

Talking With Nature came about by accident. I was trying out a new macro lens for my camera in a park one day and spied a rather strange-looking knothole in a cedar tree. I took a photo of it, but had no idea what was in the camera until the pictures were downloaded to the computer. And there it was – a face in a tree! Almost immediately I knew what the story would be about, so I began taking photos of all kinds of bugs, worms, frogs and insects, as well as some of domesticated animals.

Once I had all of the photos, I spent hours working on them in the computer until I was satisfied with the way they looked. Then came the fun of giving them all a voice to tell their story. The difficult part of writing that many limericks is avoiding repetition. Once the limericks were written out in longhand, it was back to the computer and Photoshop – my favorite program. The text was added, and then the proofreading began. It always amazes me how many typos show up!

In reviewing this story in order to write this blog, I have discovered some things that will be improved upon with the next book. And before I forget to mention it, the last photo of the face in the tree at the end of Talking With Nature is untouched – the way it looks in the back of the book is exactly as it came out of the camera.

I am always amazed when I look into the eyes of animals, birds, fish and insects, at the intelligence that is so obvious there. For over twenty years now, in different homes where we have lived, one or two wasps have wintered inside with us, sleeping somewhere out of sight. They come out once during the season for some honey and water, and then appear again in the spring. When I notice them, I hold out my index finger, the wasp hops on and I carry him to the door and let him go. I have no fear of them and have never been stung.

It has only taken our cat, Little Bud, about three years to teach us how to understand him, but once we figured it out, life became much more enjoyable for all three of us. And speaking of him, he came in Friday morning limping badly, with a long gash on his back leg. We applied a good dose of tea tree oil, and were then trying to decide if he needed to see the vet. He immediately disappeared, probably because, in his opinion, it wasn’t necessary. Two days later – he’s fine, so in this case, he knew best.

Time to go, so Happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers out there!

Until next time,

Jean.

You can find my books, including this one, which is free, here:

https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/ShastaDaisy

 

Image

About Jean MacIntyre

I live in Eastern Ontario, Canada with my husband Don and our very spoiled (but very cute cat) Little Bud. In the past, i have had three main careers - firstly as a registered nurse, secondly as a farm insurance underwriter, and now (the most fun one) as an author. To date, i have published eleven books - two children's, three non-fiction, and six 'sweet' romances - the fun stuff!
This entry was posted in Children and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

