Breakfast For One

Breakfast For One – my sixth sweet romance. Just got home from a wonderful weekend with my five sisters, one sister-in-law, and a family friend. Our hangout was at The Cove in beautiful Westport, Ontario – great food, shopping and visiting. But I digress…

Breakfast For One was another story inspired by a photo. We were given the word ‘soft’ as a camera club assignment and I immediately saw a soft-boiled egg in my mind. After setting up the dishes, I placed the boiled egg in the eggcup and cracked it open, watching in dismay as the yolk ran down over the egg, the cup and onto the plate. My first thought was that I would have to clean it up with Photoshop, but when I downloaded it on the computer and had a good look at it, I realized it was perfect just the way it presented itself.

Once more, the opening scene flowed into my mind, and I quickly wrote it down:

Sitting at the table, boiled egg in front of her, Michaela carried on a one-sided conversation with said egg: “So, where is he? Where’s the handsome, witty, intelligent, honest, industrious, besotted husband who should be sitting across the table from me? Where are the little boy and his sister? They should be sitting here as well, squabbling over the jam jar. This isn’t what I pictured my life to be at twenty-eight, or even at twenty-five, for that matter. You know something? You are no help!” She dashed some salt on her silent partner, ground some fresh pepper and added a dab of butter. Four spoonfuls into her mouth, and there was nothing left but the shell.

After writing the above, I realized Michaela worked from her home, but had no idea what she did for a living. A quick search of the Internet gave me many options, but having worked in our own home office for many years, it was easy to decide she was a ‘virtual’ secretary.

Then a strange thing happened while I was writing about Jason in Chapter One – out of nowhere he became an ex-police officer, and I knew right away how the story would end. (Love it when that happens!). It still amazes me the way a story can take a sudden turn in a completely different direction with no input from me. I’d love to know who is really writing this stuff!

Now I’m off for an early night – hiked about two miles over Foley Mountain today, took some great photos, and ate too much at lunch.

Have a great week everyone – looks like the weather is going to be lovely.

Jean.

P.S. You can find my books here: https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/ShastaDaisyImage

About Jean MacIntyre

I live in Eastern Ontario, Canada with my husband Don and our very spoiled (but very cute cat) Little Bud. In the past, i have had three main careers - firstly as a registered nurse, secondly as a farm insurance underwriter, and now (the most fun one) as an author. To date, i have published eleven books - two children's, three non-fiction, and six 'sweet' romances - the fun stuff!
This entry was posted in Romance and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

