A Daddy For Robbie

A Daddy For Robbie – my fifth romance – came about because of an old photo that just showed up one day. Needing permission to use it for the cover image, I sent an email out to my many siblings, but none recalled taking the shot. Since I didn’t do it, I have to assume my mother took it. She would be most pleased to see it used on this cover because she loved reading romances about babies and little kids.

And yes, that’s yours truly in the photo, with my son, Steven, and our dog Rex. I was a single mother at the time and when Don came into our lives, I’m not sure who was happier – Steve or myself. Apart from those minor details, the rest of the tale is pure fiction.

It constantly amazes me when a story just seems to tell itself without any effort on my part, with the exception of holding the pen, or touching the computer keyboard. The opening paragraph came into my mind one morning just as I was waking up, so I immediately wrote it down, knowing how quickly these things can slip away. Here’s what I wrote:

Sitting quietly at the table, head down, crayon in hand, he appeared to be coloring in his dinosaur book. But he was really listening to the man who was talking to his mommy. The man wasn’t here to fix anything because nothing was broken. He didn’t have anything with him, like a briefcase, so he wasn’t trying to sell something. He just seemed to be talking.

When Mommy introduced him, she said, “Robbie, I’d like you to meet Mr. Conlon. Brad, this is Robbie.”

The man had stooped down, and shaking Robbie’s hand, said, “Hello Robbie. I’m really happy to meet you.”

The thing Robbie noticed first was that he had very kind eyes, and they crinkled at the corners when he smiled. His eyes were brown and he had a really nice face.

The next thing he noticed, after he went back to coloring, was that his mommy was acting funny – different from normal. She was talking a lot and she even giggled, something that she hadn’t done in a long time. Not since before.

This past week has been taken up with my new Asus Transformer tablet. (I love technology!). I was using an Ipod for email and checking on links, but the small print cancelled out the benefits of the speed with which it connected to the Internet. So the new tablet, being Android, was a bit of a challenge, until I learned its differences from Windows and Apple. Funny how there always seems to be something interesting to keep me away from writing!!!

Until next time, if you have a smile, give it away.

Jean 🙂

P.S. You can find my books here:  https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/ShastaDaisyImage

About Jean MacIntyre

I live in Eastern Ontario, Canada with my husband Don and our very spoiled (but very cute cat) Little Bud. In the past, i have had three main careers - firstly as a registered nurse, secondly as a farm insurance underwriter, and now (the most fun one) as an author. To date, i have published eleven books - two children's, three non-fiction, and six 'sweet' romances - the fun stuff!
This entry was posted in Romance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

