The Marvelous Mistake

The Marvelous Mistake

Writing the first two chapters of this book was a little bit painful because of what Shelley had to go through. I could hardly wait to get to chapter three. But a funny thing happened early in chapter one. Right out of nowhere the pen wrote in a stalker who was following Shelley around. Then another really strange thing happened as the story unfolded – I began to feel sorry for him and to almost like him. Weird!

With this book, the ending came to my mind very early in the process. This made it rather difficult to write the middle because I just wanted to get to the good part. And the good part for me was the Leap Year proposal of marriage that Shelley gave to Jake. The original proposal is framed and hanging on our bedroom wall. I just had to change the names and dates for Shelley. We still chuckle about the reaction of Don’s co-workers when he got his copy. His signature was witnessed by one of them.

As the book progressed and Katy and Logan were introduced, I had to go on the Internet to discover what sort of language skills a two and four year old would have. Although I grew up with eleven siblings, eight younger ones, that was many years ago and I am currently not in contact with any little kids on a regular basis. I don’t think I could write these books so easily without the Internet for research.

Coming up with a suitable cover proved to be another challenge. I couldn’t find a yard with a suitable little pine tree. I even considered digging a hole in our yard and transplanting one from the nearby woods, but the yard is hilly and wouldn’t lend itself well to a photo of a little tree. I finally took a picture of the branches of our pine tree, against the sky, and then added the rabbit – a shot taken at the cottage several years ago.

Now it’s back to writing the limericks for the kids’ book I’m working on. The photos are finished, some limericks are written, but coming up with rhyming words without being too repetitive, is a real challenge.

Next week I’ll talk about A Daddy For Robbie – my fifth romance novel. (Got the sequence right this time!)

Have a great week and I’ll TTYL – as the kids say.
Link to Marvelous Mistake: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/162985

 Image

About Jean MacIntyre

I live in Eastern Ontario, Canada with my husband Don and our very spoiled (but very cute cat) Little Bud. In the past, i have had three main careers - firstly as a registered nurse, secondly as a farm insurance underwriter, and now (the most fun one) as an author. To date, i have published eleven books - two children's, three non-fiction, and six 'sweet' romances - the fun stuff!
This entry was posted in Romance and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

