A Puzzling Affair

Here we are again – another week has gone by and no writing accomplished! I did, however, get crowned – on a tooth, not the head. The topic today is my third sweet romance, A Puzzling Affair. (AND I just realized that was my fourth – my third was The Marvelous Mistake. I’ll talk about that one next week.)

It seems to me, on re-reading A Puzzling Affair, that some of my life experiences are creeping into my books. For example, Kristy is a Registered Psychiatric Nurse, as was I. She’s into photography, writing and illustrating kids’ books, just as I am. And she’s camping at Bon Echo Provincial Park (a beautiful get-away) as I did – years ago. She also loves puzzles – one of my major addictions. I had to delete several games off of the computer because I was wasting time with them. The experience she describes to Ben about the six months she spent on a Sudoku book is one that I actually went through. I even received a pin that says ‘I Cracked The Sudoku Code’. Besides this pin, I also acquired several messed up vertebrae in my neck, for which I still do exercises to keep them aligned. But it was worth it!

Back to A Puzzling Affair – when I started writing this one, I had no idea what I would use for a cover image, until I came to the part where Ben takes Kristy out to get photos of some deer. The deer didn’t show up at the stream, but she still got her picture when one appeared on the road later. Taking a look through my files of photos, there it was – my cover image – a deer standing in the road, looking right at the camera. Lucky me!

While I was writing about the tornado warning, we experienced some severe microbursts between home and our cottage, so it became easy to describe the damage.

I think my favorite part of this story is a scene when Ben and Kristy take shelter in a motel during the tornado warning. Here’s a little sample:

Back in the room, she climbed into bed, pulled a pillow down, the blanket up, and curled on her side. Ben was soon settled in his bed on his side, facing her. The lights were out, but there was a faint glow from the streetlight, so they could see each other, though not clearly.

Eyes closed, Kristy began to grin, then to chuckle.

“What’s so funny?” Ben was staring at her.

“What did the virgin nurse say to her husband on their wedding night?”

“Haven’t got a clue, but I’m sure you’ll tell me.”

“You can’t put that thing in there. It’s not sterile.” Kristy was laughing as she spoke and Ben soon joined her.

On that note, it’s time to say goodbye. Next week I’ll talk about The Marvelous Mistake – my third romance. And how was your week?
Here’s the link to A Puzzling Affair:
https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/237083

 Image

About Jean MacIntyre

I live in Eastern Ontario, Canada with my husband Don and our very spoiled (but very cute cat) Little Bud. In the past, i have had three main careers - firstly as a registered nurse, secondly as a farm insurance underwriter, and now (the most fun one) as an author. To date, i have published eleven books - two children's, three non-fiction, and six 'sweet' romances - the fun stuff!
This entry was posted in Romance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

