Coffee To Go

And now for Coffee To Go; this was my second ‘sweet’ romance, and the first one to come about because of a photo I had taken for a camera club assignment. The assignment was ‘motion/fluidity’ so I spent some time with the camera on the tripod, the coffee pot filled with water and the cup and saucer in place. After taking several photos while pouring the water, I added the coffee to the pot, poured it, and got my photo. Then I went into Photoshop and focused the spotlight on the stream of coffee.

I knew I wanted to use this photo for a book cover and the idea of a disastrous run-in involving take-out coffee just came to me. The story followed from that thought.

The house Russ built for himself very much resembles the layout of our home, though on a smaller scale, and without the lake. But that came about as well when we found our summer getaway on a stocked trout lake in a private campground. One of my favorite places to write is in a hammock strung between cedar trees by the lake, and I’m always anxious to get back there every spring.

Like Melanie, my husband and I have studied the practice of the Kahunas extensively, and like her, we sometimes forget to use what we’ve learned. We do use ‘grumbling’ when necessary, and we always find parking spots without thinking about it. I have altered the weather on several occasions (still wondering if it’s coincidence). The most memorable time was when we were living in the apartment at the motel. This was situated at a high elevation with a lake behind, and the bay below on the other side. Don was away, and a severe thunderstorm was moving in. I meditated a bit, and visualized the storm moving out over Lake Ontario to a place where there were no boats. It disappeared as quickly as it had come in, and the next day a friend commented that she had never seen a storm move so fast. Once I realized that I could move a storm, it no longer seemed necessary to do so.

Back to Melanie and Russ – I really love the way their relationship developed slowly over time, and the way Russ was willing to be patient until she was ready for more than friendship – just like my husband! J

On that note, it’s time to get back to writing. I’m working on a third kids’ book, this one about fruits and veggies. I have taken all of the photos – just have to write the limericks.

Until next time, which will be about A Puzzling Affair – keep on smiling!
You can find this one here: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/94172
Image

About Jean MacIntyre

I live in Eastern Ontario, Canada with my husband Don and our very spoiled (but very cute cat) Little Bud. In the past, i have had three main careers - firstly as a registered nurse, secondly as a farm insurance underwriter, and now (the most fun one) as an author. To date, i have published eleven books - two children's, three non-fiction, and six 'sweet' romances - the fun stuff!
This entry was posted in Romance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

