Dream Lover

Today I’m going to talk about my first published ebook – Dream Lover. My first four romance novels were discarded because I was unable to find a publisher – with one exception. One of the books was accepted for publication as an audio book but the company went bankrupt. That was enough incentive to keep on writing, so Dream Lover was my next project.

We were living at a seasonal resort at the time and I was working in the office, taking bookings, answering questions, etc. while Don was working for an insurance company. Since our apartment was behind the office, I was able to spend my days off writing. With my husband as the technical go-to guy for insurance questions, it seemed the right fit for my heroine. The working title was Charly’s Challenge, but somewhere during the process it became Dream Lover. (Had I checked the number of books on line with that title, I might have reverted back to the original!)

While thinking about a cover, browsing through my file of ‘stock’ photos, I came upon the one I used – a stretch of road we travel to get to our cottage in the summer. Since there was a fluffy little cloud in the sky, it seemed the perfect spot for my nephew Jamie’s head. (I have several very handsome nephews, but he made the cut because his was the only photo in profile and I’m not interested in portrait photography so, with his permission, I used what I had on hand.)

I think my favorite part of the book is the section where Charly and McKinnon are recording and exchanging their dreams. She is able to teach him how to analyze them and discover what they are trying to tell him. But at the same time, she learns a great deal about him.

I first published Dream Lover on publicbookshelf.com where people could read it for free. From the reviews, I quickly learned that the story needed an epilogue because it ended too suddenly. From publicbookshelf I then discovered Amazon, published it on their site, but found them difficult to work with, for several reasons. When I discovered Smashwords, I closed the Amazon account and re-published over there. I particularly like Smashwords because from their site my books go to Apple, Barnes and Noble, Diesel, Kobo, Sony and into some library systems. The support their site offers is outstanding!

Back to Dream Lover – I have left this one free for anyone to read, so that they can discover what type of books I write.

And now I must go make some Kosher dill pickles, and then tap our two maple trees for the sap – a very healthy drink. We aren’t into making syrup – too labor intensive.

Next week I’ll talk about my second romance – Coffee To Go.
Here’s the link to Dream Lover https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/56961
Image

About Jean MacIntyre

I live in Eastern Ontario, Canada with my husband Don and our very spoiled (but very cute cat) Little Bud. In the past, i have had three main careers - firstly as a registered nurse, secondly as a farm insurance underwriter, and now (the most fun one) as an author. To date, i have published eleven books - two children's, three non-fiction, and six 'sweet' romances - the fun stuff!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

